Wanted: beginner's trail bike

Want something someone might have or they know where to get it?
Caesi01
250cc Trail Rider

Wanted: beginner's trail bike

Postby Caesi01 » Thu Apr 14, 2016 3:59 pm

250cc or more
Good working order
Weekend fun

Budget £1000

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

farnham flyer
350cc Veteran

Re: Wanted: beginner's trail bike

Postby farnham flyer » Sun Apr 17, 2016 10:19 pm

I think you'll struggle on that budget.

If you can find another £500, my Honda CRM 250 would be perfect.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/301929795556?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2648

I'm in Farnham.

Paul.

Dominic
500cc MXER

Postby Dominic » Mon Apr 18, 2016 9:20 am

Lovely bike that, and a lot of bike for the money...

Caesi01
250cc Trail Rider

Postby Caesi01 » Wed Apr 20, 2016 1:46 pm

Caesi01 wrote:250cc or more
Good working order
Weekend fun

Budget £1000

As a newbie to this forum and a complete novice to trail riding (except for one day with http://offthekerbtrailriding.com) I still have quite a bit to learn about these bikes. For example, I didn't even realise that kick start is common when my immediate reaction was 'not for me'.
however, that seems to have its advantages, primarly reg weight, correct?

But how is it when you are out and about and you keep stalling (which I guess it initially wll be the case for me): quick and easy or rather tedious?
Do the pros outweights the cons?

What are members' thoughts?

gavinskii
400cc Thumper

Postby gavinskii » Wed Apr 20, 2016 2:36 pm

You say you have a budget of £1000 this is the absolute minimum for an old nail of a bike with an MOT, though I would expect that you would need to spend several hundred pounds on renewing chain, sprockets and tyres.

2 strokes are light and simple to maintain + easy to kick.