New Bike! Putting the XR400 in the bin!

Using something that's clearly worth talking about? Share it.
RSTMatt
I'll ignore you if i see you in public

Postby RSTMatt » Fri Mar 15, 2013 11:20 pm

So after another failed attempt to get the old Honda going I've decided to bin her (Sell it as a non runner / break it).

So what to buy next?......MUST have an electric start lol. Got around 3k, really like the look of the husqvarna TE250.

Anything I should avoid? I'm still a relative beginner. 2stroke 4stroke?

My mechanic said if I got a KTM he wouldnt work on it! I guess not everyone is a fan of Orange!

G-Bru
You should've bought a KTM!

Re: New Bike! Putting the XR400 in the bin!

Postby G-Bru » Fri Mar 15, 2013 11:36 pm

RSTMatt wrote:My mechanic said if I got a KTM he wouldnt work on it! I guess not everyone is a fan of Orange!

You won't need a mechanic if you bought a 2T bud! They are really simple and easy to work on! No way I would trust any dealer or mechanic with my bike anyways, they don't give it the respect and love I do whenever I work on it. ; p

Just buy an Orange one, there is a couple good looking 2T's up for grabs over on KTMForum.co.uk for what you are looking to spend.

Good luck and happy bike shopping!

G
Grant

KTM 250EXC SixDays

Dave
250cc

Postby Dave » Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:07 am

Matt SteveT has a really nice Yam WR250 which only needs an oil change every 3-5000 miles or something daft. He's an intermediate rider and it goes everywhere. He even rode it from Mitcham along the A3 to the meets.

It's a 4 stroke so very reliable and the 250 is very light. TBH as a beginner I'd head down that route. The 4 bangers will tow you anywhere, have very predictable, smooth power and are very forgiving going long distance.

The Yams WR range have great build quality and hold their value very well. Also no need to worry about mixing oil either.

Billy
woz bus pass

Postby Billy » Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:19 am